Attractions in Wexford
Hook Lighthouse voted as number one lighthouse in the world and is an enduringly popular attraction in south east Ireland. Constructed with local limestone is one of the most fascinating examples of medieval architecture in Ireland.
It is one of the oldest operational lighthouses in the world, the present structure dates back 800 years to the medieval tower of Hook. Today there is a visitor centre, a café serving light meals, a gift shop and the tower itself to discover.
The House of Waterford Crystal is one hour drive from Hook Lighthouse.
A Cistercian abbey, founded c. 1200 by William, the Earl Marshall, and named after Tintern in Wales. The remains consist of nave, chancel, tower, chapel and cloister. It was partly converted into living quarters after 1541, and further adapted over the centuries. The Abbey was occupied by the Colclough family from the 16th century until 1960s.
The House of Waterford Crystal is one hour drive from Tintern Abbey.
Founded in 1170, one of the finest examples of a Cistercian Monastery in Ireland. Attractions include the Abbey, the Maze with Pitch & Putt, Craft Shop and Tea Room. Dunbrody Abbey was founded in 1170 on the instructions of Strongbow, by Herve de Montmorency (his uncle), after the Norman invasion of Ireland.
The House of Waterford Crystal is 45 mins drive from Dunbrody Abbey.
Selskar Abbey is one of Wexford’s most significant medieval ruins, and abuts directly onto the old town walls. The curving lines of the adjacent streets may reflect the circular enclosed of a much earlier ‘Celtic’ monastery.
The House of Waterford Crystal is one hour drive from Selskar Abbey.
John F Kennedy Arboretum
Dedicated to the memory of John Fitzgerald Kennedy, President of the United States from 1960 to 1963, the Arboretum is a plant collection of international standing. It covers 252 hectares (623 acres) on the southern slopes and summit of Slievecoiltia. It contains 4,500 types of trees and shrubs from all temperate regions of the world, planted in botanical sequence.
The House of Waterford Crystal is 40 mins drive from John F. Kennedy Arboretum.
Loftus Hall is a large mansion house on the Hook peninsula, County Wexford, Ireland. Built on the site of the original Redmond Hall, it is said by locals to have been haunted by the devil and the ghost of a young woman.
Visit Loftus Hall and take 45 minute interactive guided tour through the ground floor of this abandoned haunted mansion. Hear all about the grim, and often gruesome, history; and get the chance to experience “The Legend of Loftus Hall”.
The House of Waterford Crystal is one hour drive from Loftus Hall.
The Saltee Islands, St. George's Channel consisting of the Great and Little Saltee, are situated approximately 5 kilometers off the coast of Kilmore Quay Co.Wexford. The larger island Great Saltee is the most famous bird sanctuary in Ireland and is very popular with both day-trippers and birdwatchers alike. These Islands are privately owned and are one of the world's major bird sanctuaries.
The House of Waterford Crystal is located one hour drive from the port to Saltee Islands.